Letter home

I  thought it would be a good idea to post a letter home when I didn’t need to post anything. That way if it didn’t work, either that I couldn’t figure out the post office or it just doesn’t turn up then it was no big worry. Last week I went to old downtown and found a very nice knitting shop (not that I knit or do anything crafty at all, but I do like going into the shops.) So I picked up this and thought my mum would like it – Mum don’t look at the photo if you want your letter to be a surprise!

Except I picked a blue and orange one but didn’t take a photo of it! I am not going to say what it, you will just have to guess that.

The post office is very easy to find – it is behind the brand new McDonalds just down the road from our apartment. Here it is,

Very much a post office, as you can see the signs even have English on them.

You have to take a ticket from the wee machine and then wait until your number pings up (this is Korea everything, and I mean everything, makes a chirpy ping or beep or do-do-do-do-do-do noise, the washing machine happy finished song last about 1 minute).

It took me a while to find the number machine as a lady was standing in front of it with a big parcel. However, my usual tactic of wandering around looking confused paid off and someone showed me where to go.

There was one tricky moment when the lady weighing my letter asked me what it contained but goggle translate is a fantastic app and sorted everything out. The post was amazingly cheap as well, it only cost me 1000won to post, which is about 60p. I wonder how long it will take to reach home, I choose normal rather than express as there is no hurry for it?

Leave a Reply

