First run on week four – blughhhh.

I have managed to get the running weeks out of sync with the real week (typhoon Sanba threw me off last week, as the school as closed) so I had to start week 4 on a Wednesday. Now, I never like the Wednesday run, for me it is the hardest of the week so stepping up to the next week was really hard today. Not sure fully why, maybe a combination of getting on my bike at the weekend and laziness but I really didn’t want to go running this morning. So probably not the best positive attitude that I should have had. But I know my self and I have to stick to my schedule, as soon as I start to let it slip then very quickly I won’t be going at all. So to the gym I went.

 

And it was tough, I tried to keep the incline at 1% and my running speed at 8 km/hr but I was just not going to get finished that way, so incline set to zero and running at only 7.6km/hr. Which felt like a defeat, but I did keep going and finish the run. Today’s run was only:

  • 5 min warm up walk
  • 3 min run
  • 90 sec walk
  • 5 min run
  • 2.5 min walk
  • 3 min run
  • 90 sec walk
  • 5 min run
  • 5 min warm down walk

 

But the first 5 minutes run felt like it was lasting forever, strangely the second one although hard didn’t feel as long. I feel a mix of emotions now, slight embarrassment that running (slowly as well) for 5 minutes was hard work, pride that even though it was hard work I did do it and also fear – if this week is hard, how on earth am I going to cope with the coming weeks!

 

I have another run on Friday and then I have to take a week off, the children are off school (Korean festival of thanksgiving – Chuseok – and then a couple of teacher training days) and Richard is in the UK, so no time to go to the gym. We are planning on heading out on our bikes though so I will still get some exercise, and if the weather holds as pleasant as it has been, I think we will take a picnic and make a day of it. So my plan is to do two runs of week 4 this week and then do it again once the kids are back at school, then I can start week 5 on a Monday, which always feels so much better.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

