November is over

At the start of the month I decided to join some other fellow writers, from Cafe Aphra (who have a blog and facebook page), and set my self a writing challenge, of writing 1000 words a day for the week days (weekend writing is just way too hard). So that was a grand total of 22,000 words.

And I have only managed 15,000 – so 5,000 short of my mark.

However, I am going to declare this a success and I am very happy with it. Firstly, as Octobers tally was a miserly 4,000. Secondly, I have gotten over a bump in my story – where I felt I was stuck in the same place (or in this case, day) or ever, so the 15,000 words has really moved the story on. Thirdly, writing is (at the moment, anyway) a hobby, and life happens, November has been a very busy month and it hasn’t been easy to fit everything in.

Plus, on top of writing my story, I have written 18 blog posts and two articles for online magazines – a restaurant review for Ulsan online (which can be found here) and a travel article for Bucket List Publications, which I am still waiting to here back from.

At the end of every project, it is worthwhile having a brief reflection and there are some definite lessons learned here. I do work a lot better with a target and I am going to try and have enough self-disapline to set one each month. However, this target is not rigid and can be altered as the month goes on (I am still aiming for the 22,000 but I have now given myself until we leave for the UK on the 14th), writing, for me, is a hobby and hobbies are supposed to be enjoyable, they can be tricky or frustrating but they shouldn’t be a source of stress. I work a lot better early in the morning that the afternoon and if I can get to the computer by eight, and not faff around, I can get loads done and I also get more done on Mondays and Tuesdays than any other day.

I am off to alter my word count spreadsheet for my new target and then I really will stop procrastinating and get down to some writing.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bewitchedchristian
    Dec 03, 2012 @ 11:43:06

    I can understand your furstration at trying to keep output of words at an even keel. Perhaps we could both learn from my experiment I’m proposing, where I write a novel in a year, posting one thousand words a week, sometimes more if I get ahead of myself. See my post on http://witchesatwar.wordpress.com about the Pride and Prejudice sequel I’m proposing.

    Reply

    • Esther Haydock
      Dec 03, 2012 @ 13:46:24

      Interesting idea. I am keeping my words very close by me at the moment, the time has not yet come for them to brave the wide world. I find that I need to go back and alter stuff (eg a character that needs to be intrroduced in an earlier chapter)too much to be able to post once a week. Good luck with your writing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

