More Christmas craft – I blame Blue Peter

One of the programmes from the UK we watch every week is Blue Peter and last’s weeks episode included instructions to make a Christmas stocking for your pet. There are loads of craft/stationary shops (with more crafty stuff than you can wish for and sheets and sheets of felt) here and we have a good one just round the corner so it was easy to get all the supplies we needed.

IMG_0773

Firstly, we made a template and then cut out the felt. I decided it would be easier to do the sewing by myself, and I am glad I did, the felt is very tough and going though both pieces was hard work, in fact my wool needle got stuck and I ended up using pliers to pull it though. It also took a lot longer than I expected, about 1 hour per stocking! It was surprisingly pleasant though, I put cheesy Christmas music on and it even started snowing to add to the mood (plus it took so long that I didn’t have time to do the ironing – bonus!).

So in true Blue Peter style, here’s some I made earlier.

IMG_0780

The next day Katrine and Gregor got stuck in decorating their stockings:

IMG_0812

IMG_0813

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All finished, with clothes pegs to help the tinsel stick.

IMG_0814

Electra’s has been filled and we are going to take Pippin’s back with us and fill it when we get to the UK.

IMG_0816It is sad we can’t be with Electra this Christmas, at least she will have her stocking.

 

Leave a Reply

