Adventures with a rice cooker – beef stew

Yesterday was another cold and crisp day here (today it is raining, the first rain I have seen since we returned) so I thought I would experiment with my rice cooker, which you can use as a slow cooker.

IMG_1059

I decided to make a simple beef and vegetable stew.

 

IMG_1060

 

 

 

 

 

Here are all the ingredients for the gravy – the red cubes are frozen red wine, I don’t drink wine so we often have left over wine and have taken to freezing it for cooking.

 

And all mixed together in the rice cooker.

IMG_1061

We then went out for a bike ride and left it simmering away, one nice feature that it has – it came to the end of the cooking time and just switched over to keeping warm. I was intending to take a cooked picture with the food on serving plates, looking appetising, but unfortunately it looked too appetising and we all just started eating and by the time I remembered there was nothing left but some clean plates (and Katrine’s onions which she had very successfully avoided).

Leave a Reply

