Adventures with a rice cooker – lemon cake

I was the host of this month’s book group so needed to make some goodies, as my as my very reliable (and easy) white chocolate and cranberry cookies I thought I would experiment a little and try making a lemon cake in the rice cooker. There was absolutely no reason for this, I have an oven, except that I wanted to give it a try.

IMG_1066I made a simple sponge cake (same weight eggs, flour, sugar, butter) and then grated in the zest of a lemon, I then put the batter into the rice cooker and switched it on. I used the slow cook setting for one hour and then, as it wasn’t set, I just pressed normal cook for a further twenty minutes.

IMG_1068

 

 

 

 

It didn’t look it best whilst still in the pa, slight anaemic and wet, but when turned out (which it did beautifully, without sticking) it looked a whole lot better.)

 

IMG_1069I made a very simple, but extremely effective, glaze by sprinkling the hot cake with granulated sugar and then drenching with the juice of a lemon.

IMG_1070It went down very well, it is a very moist cake with a slightly different texture to a conventionally baked cake. I have frozen half of it in individual portions, so that the kids can take it to school for snack time, by recess it will have defrosted and be good to eat.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mummyshymz
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 11:14:42

    Looks good! is there any specific type of rice cooker to be used?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

