Cold or flu – and does it matter anyway?

In my last post I mentioned that I was at home with a sick child, well since then we have all succumbed to the illness. Katrine is the current victim, Gregor is mostly better and back and school and Richard and I are somewhere in the middle. It was been a tough weekend, we were taking it in shifts to look after the kids, cook meals etc.. as we were both pretty wiped out.

Now, I am beginning to get better I am wondering if it was a bad cold or indeed the flu. I have a pet dislike of every sniffle being allocated to flu and sometimes a cold can make you feel really ill. But, the speed in which we all fell ill and quite a few of the symptoms (high fevers, headaches, dry racking coughs, stomach aches…) are definitely pointing in that direction.

But then, as we are all generally healthy and there are no risk of additional complications, does it really matter it is was one of the several hundred cold or the handful of influenza viruses that made us ill?

As a result of, which ever virus it was, I hadn’t been out and so have no new things to blog about. Normal service will resume once I feel better.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandra
    Feb 27, 2013 @ 11:20:48

    Esther, can’t say I “like” this post. Hope you’re all feeling better soon!

    Reply

    • Esther Haydock
      Feb 27, 2013 @ 11:32:52

      Thank you, we are all on the mend on. Katrine is having one last day off school, we are currently working on her school project on Coral on the Great Barrier Reef which is very interesting. Looking forward to having the house to myself tomorrow!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

