What camera should I choose?

Since my little point-and-click camera has stopped working I have decided to replace it with something better. Which has led to lots of internet browsing (the one benefit of being stuck in with poorly children), I figure I have three main options:

  • A DSLR
  • A mirrorless interchangable lens system
  • A Bridge camera

Now, I am not sure I can justify the jump up to a DSLR and I am the kind of person who will always have the wrong lens with me. Plus, I want something that is easy to carry with me when we go out for the day, which rules out the mirrorless ones as well though they are smaller than a DSLR. Which led me to the bridge cameras.

Not knowing anything about camera has made it pretty tricky to figure out what camera I wanted but I have come up with a shortlist.

The Canon Powershot SX50

Main advantages I can see is the massive zoom, 50x optical zoom. It can also create RAW images but I have no idea what these are or if I am ever likely to use them. Apparently, it isn’t great at low light levels and can have a delay in taking the photos, so not the best for dark action shots.

The Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ200

This has only (which still seems plenty) 28x optical zoom and can also make RAW images (which seems important on the review websites!). It is supposed ti have a very good lens and work well in lower light levels.

The Fujifilm X-s1

This is my final choice and is techradar’s bridge camera of 2013, but is is significantly heavier that the other two, 900g compared to 600g. Which for something that I want to carry around is a consideration.

If anyone has any advice then I would love to hear it. Also, once I have my new shinny toy to play with then I think a good book or website would help – any suggestions?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Matt Dearsley
    Mar 02, 2013 @ 01:48:39

    Esther,
    I’ve just purchased the Canon for Manuela. Works a treat and the zoom is fantastic. I’m currently lobbing around with the EOS5D MkIII, so am fairly Canon biased, but it’s good stuff!
    Matt

    Reply

    • Esther Haydock
      Mar 03, 2013 @ 19:41:59

      Hi Matt!
      Good to know that you are liking the canon, it has received the most votes on Facebook as well. Richard is back in the UK next week so will pick it up when he is there. Hope life is good for you guys.

      Reply

  2. James
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 05:25:23

    I would go with the DSLR, a Canon model. Yes it’s more expensive, but there’s just so much more you can do with it.

    Reply

    • Esther Haydock
      May 01, 2013 @ 19:39:54

      Thanks for your comment. I went with the canon SX50, so a bridge camera. Once I find my feet with that I will see if I need something with more options, but I like having just the one thing to carry around with me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

