Why?

I have signed up for a 5k fun run at the end of March. It must have been a moment of madness as I cannot run for 5k, or anywhere near that. I have also signed the kids and Richard up as well, so we can “enjoy” this as a family. With an 8 and 6 year old I am not expecting to have to run the entire thing in one go, I hope they will need to walk for parts of it. I just really want to walk because they need to and not me! I want to be the mum that joins in and can do stuff, not just watch from the sidelines.

I am following the NHS couch to 5k podcasts (I’ve written about this here) and I have made it up to week 4, run 2. Which did not go well! I did manage all the runs (3min run, walk, 5min run then repeat) but the second 5 minutes was very hard and only just counted as running. I am only going running twice a week rather than the recommended three times, as I am fitting in yoga as well, so next week I will finish off week 4 and start week 5. The following week I will complete week 5, so in theory I will have run for a solid 20mintues by then. Which should be enough to run-walk the race with the kids the following weekend.

Wish me luck!

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandra
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 09:10:32

    You CAN do it! Good luck!!!

    Reply

  2. Sandra Howells
    Mar 08, 2013 @ 00:38:40

    Best wishes for the walk / run. Many times I have tried and many times realised.. I can walk for miles but run….
    Thinking of you anyway and fingers and toes crossed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

