Making my own Easter eggs – part 1

I had been told that in previous years it has been very hard to get chocolate Easter eggs in Ulsan, so I brought some egg moulds from Lakeland (via my mum – thank you!) so I could make my own. I have since found foil covered chocolate eggs in Costco, but I am still going ahead with the original plan and today was the day to get started.

IMG_1328I have all my supplies and I’m good to go – the instructions call for good quality chocolate, but that isn’t an option so I brought these giant chocolate buttons from Guam stationary shop (before valentine’s day there were make you own chocolate kits everywhere). They are already tempered, so I don’t have to faff around with that.

IMG_1329

First job was to melt the chocolate. The packets are 200g each so I just melted one at a time, which filled all the eggs moulds and gave me a sheet of little eggs as well.

These are the empty moulds all ready and waiting for the chocolate.

IMG_1330I brought two set of the easter egg moulds – which was a happy mistake –  I thought each set had 2 half moulds but turns out it had 4 halves to make 2 complete eggs. I’m happy with this, we are a family of four so we will all get an egg now!

I used a 15ml spoon of melted chocolate for each egg half, and spread it around the mould using a silicone pastry brush, this was a lot easier than I anticipated. Then they needed to go into the fridge for about twenty minutes to set.

IMG_1331 IMG_1332

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then repeat another three times!

IMG_1335Half way though now and they are starting to look good:

IMG_1334

IMG_1333This is my first set of mini eggs, very pleased with how they came out. Right at the end I made a few trays up with white chocolate as well. I will put a handful of these inside the eggs.

IMG_1336

 

 

 

 

Now I just need to leave them overnight in the fridge and tomorrow I can take them out of the moulds (eeek) and then use some more melted chocolate to seal the two halves together.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Making my own Easter eggs – part 2 | Same me, different country
  2. David and Steph
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 17:13:11

    Well impressed Esther…. they look great. Tell me how do you get an empty fridge!!! : ) xxx

    Reply

    • Esther Haydock
      Mar 13, 2013 @ 17:18:34

      We have three fridges (plus a wine/beer fridge and one in the bedroom for makeup) so that one is rarely used. It is only switched on as there is stuff in the freezer part (we have three of those as well.) We fill the freezers with bread stuff and meat from costco

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Last day of 2013 | Same me, different country

Leave a Reply

