I’ve got my new camera

Yeah. Richard brought my new camera back from the UK with him. It is supposed to be a birthday present, and my birthday isn’t for another month, but we are going to Hong Kong soon and I want it to take pictures when we are there. So it made sense to start playing around with it now.

IMG_1421

 

 

I chose the Canon Powershot SX50, which is a bride camera – a step up from a point-and-click but not a full DSLR.

 

 

I took it out for the first time at the weekend, to look at petroglyphs and dinosaur footprints and I was very pleased with the results, the zoom is very impressive and I managed to get a nice picture of a heron from quite a distance away,.

IMG_0063

 

I have been reading the manual a bit and there are a few fun things that the camera can do; you can programme it to recognise faces along with their birthdays and when the camera is focusing on a crowd it will pick out those people, also it will optimise the setting depending on the age of the subject! Also the self timer can be activated by winking at the camera.

There are loads of built in effects that you can play with; fish-eye lens, making stuff look like miniature models (why?), toy camera, colour swap and colour highlight – where the image is black and white apart from one colour. I took a practise picture of Richard using this:

IMG_0013Which, given this was a playing-around-just-out-of-the-box shot, I’m pretty happy with it. The colour of the blanket is showing as well as a some of the apps on the iPad, but it is really fun and I think with a bit of practise it could work well.

There is also a movie montage option which everytime you take a photo it films a small clip and then joins them all together, must try this at some point.

I haven’t yet tried taking it off-piste, onto the manual modes, to be honest I’m a bit nervous of these buttons. I think I might need to get a book to get me started.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Irritated Weasel
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 03:29:02

    Tilt shift cool technique. On an SLR it requires a bespoke bought or home made lens – the built in effect (if you have it) on a point and shoot) can be much fun.

    http://www.shortlist.com/cool-stuff/tilt-shift-photos

    Reply

  2. Mary Strong-Spaid
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 11:53:53

    I don’t have an SLR either. Maybe one day….I don’t know.
    Canon PowerShot takes great photos and I LOVE the powerful zoom (I have the older Canon PowerShot SX40 HS).
    I was totally impressed when it was able to even zoom in and capture the full moon….so perfectly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

