Caffeine is my friend

I had two titles for today’s post, as above or “I really, really hate jet lag”.

In a typical kids double act one child was asleep on the plane while the other was awake and needing attention, a brief time they were both asleep and then they swapped over! The upside of only getting 3 hours sleep (optimistic estimate!) is when we arrived in Korea everyone was exhausted and fell asleep at 8pm.

So Monday wasn’t too bad, though still very tired. Katrine and Gregor went to football camp (I will do a blog on this later once I get some photos) and I hopped that 5 hours of running around would help them sleep at night. Well, it worked for one child! Gregor was asleep as soon as his head touched the pillow and slept a straight 12 hours. Katrine on the other hand was in the grip of jetlag and just couldn’t get to sleep till gone midnight. We tried warm milk, reading her book, listening to a story on the iPod but no joy, she was wide awake. Which meant I had to stay awake as well!

By the time she finally settled down, I was then wide awake! So same tactics as above, only difference is I listened to an Agatha Christie Miss Marple story rather than Tumtum and Nutmeg’s Adventure to the Seaside.

So this morning I am cursing jet lag and lack of sleep and am keeping going solely on caffeinated drinks, chocolate and Pringles.

 

Leave a Reply

