Apple jelly

We have a beautiful old apple tree, which as well as providing Gregor climbing opportunities is also giving us a lot of apples. These are great cooking apples and too sharp to eat so I have been busy making apple and rhubarb pie (my gran in Wales used to make this regularly when I was little), apple crumble and apple cobbler. But there is only so many apples you can use up like this so I decided to make apple jelly – this is a jelly as in a strained jam, not a wibbly wobble jelly (jello).

First start with the apples, my straining set can cope with up to 2kg of apples so that is what I used.IMG_1556

The brilliant thing about making jelly is that you don’t need to peel or core the apples, just roughly chop and remove any bruised bits. Then tip into a large pan (my jam pan is actually my mum’s old deep fat fryer but it has a heavy flat bottom which is what I need) add enough water to cover and then simmer the fruit to a pulp.

Then you have to strain the liquid out, here I got to use my new strainer set – back to childhood memories of my mum  straining bramble and crap apple jelly using a upturned stool.

IMG_1559

You then just leave it to drip for a while, the recipes I found said anything from half an hour to overnight, so I left it a couple of hours and figured that would do. They all agree on one thing – do not squeeze the bag or the jelly will go cloudy!

Now time for the sugar. For every litre of liquid you need 700g of sugar.  
IMG_1560

IMG_1561Back to the pan, with the juice of 1 lemon, and heat gently to dissolve the sugar and then vigorously to get it up to temperature. It needs to get to 105 degrees to set, I got it up to 102 really quickly but the last 3 degrees were illusive. Eventually I had to put the lid on to push the temperature up.

All that was left it to jar it up (using sterilised jars of course).

IMG_1562

The white cloudy bits are the skin that was forming as it cooled down, I tried to skim it off, but didn’t managed to get all of it. I had some on toast for breakfast today and I’m very pleased to say that it has set and tastes great.

So now only 1 question remains, what am I going to do with the rest of the apples on the tree?

IMG_1564

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Easy pomegranate and apply jelly | Same me, different country

Leave a Reply

