My burpee challenge

At the start of January I agreed to take part in a burpee challenge, which is a very simple idea (if not so easy to do); you start with 1 burpee and then increase by 1 each day. So now we are on the 16th January I am up to 16 burpees. I didn’t include it in my New Year post in case I totally wussed out and didn’t keep it up.

A burpee is a combination fitness move where you are supposed to use the whole body and therefore is apparently very good for you. I am not sure about this and think it might all be a joke on the fitness instructors parts to make people suffer.

Only I can’t do the full push-up so have to put my knees down. The funniest part is the cat watching me with a very bemused expression.

In total this year I have done 136 burpees!*

*In case others feels as geeky as me T(n) = n+(n-1)+(n-2)+…+1 = n(n+1)/2
(i.e 16+15+14+…+1 = 16*17/2 = 136)
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandra Howells
    Jan 17, 2014 @ 10:05:24

    Bit like working out how many presents have been delivered by the twelfth day of Christmas……

    Reply

  2. drdeblogs
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 00:48:10

    Are burpees a bit like a faster variation of the sun salutation in yoga? Good luck with the challenge!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

