Getting ready for our move to Baku

Sorry about the massive gap between blog posts. Not got a good excuse but the longer it went the harder it seemed to find anything to write about, plus I felt I should include things in order so I shouldn’t write about B before I had written about A  which happened weeks ago. it all got in a muddle of procrastination and nothing got posted at all.

Well, I have been well and truly shamed by my daughter  who has started her own blog (www.katrinesbrilliantbookblog.wordpress.com) and she has been writing a post a day. This has given me the push I needed to get back into blogging.

The last few weeks have been really busy getting ready for our move to Baku. We are going on the 28th July but our sea/ land shipment is being packed tomorrow. It takes 2 months to get there, clear customs etc so in theory we should arrive at the same time to get settled in really quickly. We will see if this actually works in practise.

We are also in the process of buying a house in the UK, which will be out home base. This is a brand new house and the build has been delayed. Fingers very tightly crossed we will be moving in there at the end of this month.

So I have spent most of my free time splitting everything we own in to two – going and staying  – and buying any stuff that we are missing, lots of trips to IKEA.

I have even had to photograph all pictures we are taking with us, some custom requirement (I think so that we can take them easily out again at the end as we can prove we brought them in).

But we are ready for the packers tomorrow. Wish me luck!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandra Howells
    Jun 01, 2014 @ 21:31:05

    fingers crossed for easy packing, good weather and a quick move to the new house

    Reply

  2. Dad and Steph
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 08:36:35

    Good luck indeed. 🙂

    Reply

  3. tedstrutz
    Jun 14, 2014 @ 05:46:50

    Good Luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

