Easy pomegranate and apply jelly

For Jeff:

It is pomegranate season here and they are everywhere, cheap and delicious. So I thought I would try to make pomegranate jelly, brief search of the internet didn’t help much and the few recipes I did find all included pectin which a) I don’t have and b) I have never used in jam making before so don’t know anything about.

But I figured that apples are naturally very high in pectin so combining the two should work OK.

Ingredient list:

  • Pomegranates
  • Sharp apples – like granny Smiths or cooking apples
  • Lots of sugar
  • Water

And that’s it! I don’t have exact quantities as I just used what I had in so about 8 pomegranates and a bag full of apples.

First get the seeds out the pomegranate, this is always fun. Cut them in half and loosen the skin slightly and then whack the skin with a wooden spoon and the seeds just pop out. However you do get a bit juice splattered and pomegranate juice can strain! (There are good instructions online, I watched this one but there are loads with lots of variations as well!)

Then roughly chop the apple (as you are going to strain it there is no need to peal or core first – bonus) and chuck everything into a large saucepan. Cover with water and simmer for about 40minutes.

Then strain though a jelly strainer or cheese cloth. (I forgot to take photos but I did take some last year when I made apply jelly, which is virtually identical). Leave to drip for anywhere from 1 hour to overnight. DO NOT be tempted to squeeze that bag, not even a little, or the jelly will have cloudy bits in it (spoken from experience here).

Once you have run out of patience watching juice drip out of the strainer, measure the amount of liquid you have. You need 700g of sugar for every litre.

Put the liquid and sugar in to the saucepan and heat gently to dissolve the sugar and then vigorously to 105degrees. (I have no idea how to test for jam being done without a thermometer but I know there is some magic you can do with a cold saucer, a thermometer seems easiest to me)

That it! Put into sterilised jam jars (oven at 150degrees or hot cycle of dishwasher) and allow to cool. The set was perfect and the jelly is a wonderful vibrant pink colour – if you brought it from a shop you would swear they can gone overboard with the artificial colours.

A bit sweet to be perfect for me, though my kids love it, but I’m not sure I can reduce the sugar levels without affecting the set, it does go very nicely with tea and toast.

IMG_3030

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mumat55
    Nov 10, 2014 @ 14:18:50

    looks good to me, would it also be good with cold meats?

    Date: Mon, 10 Nov 2014 04:59:22 +0000 To: sandra_howells@hotmail.co.uk

    Reply

Leave a Reply

